What helped the most: Restorative Yoga and Post-Concussion Syndrome

Post-Concussion Syndrome Recovery

On of the most helpful and soothing activities for me in overcoming post-concussion syndrome has been restorative yoga.  When I was first concussed, I was a beginner doing a regular hatha yoga class twice per week.  I found that I had to stop because it was too much for my head. My instructor suggested we switch to restorative yoga.  I then proceeded to do restorative yoga without fail for a year and half.  My classes were twice/week for 1.5 hours.  On days when I didn’t have a class, I practiced some on my own.  It was life changing.  During the first 3 – 6 months, I would sometimes find that the restorative yoga class itself caused me to be more aware of my headaches during the class.  It was not always pleasant, but my headache levels after the class came down and would stay down for hours at time.  After…

View original post 166 more words

Leave a Reply

