Yoga Teacher Training Week 1 Part II

I’m going over what I learn in my yoga teacher training program. For those who want to catch up, the link is here:

Yoga Teacher Training Week 1 Part I

Unless you’re the kind of person that works in healthcare or is a nut about fitness (cough, cough, me) most of the anatomy-related things you learned in high school went in one ear and out the proverbial – and realistic – other thanks to time and the fact that despite what your teachers say, you don’t actually use this stuff in real life.

But we all know that I broke my foot this time last year and then tore my plantar plate and was at this point with feet and running and questions:

triple-facepalmFortunately, those days are long past, but my knowledge of the feet is not. Metatarsals? Phalanges? Pfft, I memorized all that stuff when I didn’t want to think I had to skip yet another marathon. But skip it I did, and I’m all the better for it.

Understanding anatomy is a long process, and while we don’t have to know all the bones in the body, we do have to know how everything is connected, the general arrangement of the skeleton, and how they all move about and work in yoga poses. For one who writes, this is interesting and a way to make the intangible and unseen more tangible and realistic.

***Cue Anatomy Moment of Hilarity

Imagine a room where everyone is lying on their back and trying to find the iliac crest. Imagine a room where everyones hands are closer to their nether regions than not and moving around. Now imagine looking into that room and not knowing what the heck is going on and wondering what kind of activity this was.

That was last Sunday.

Needless to say, it looked far worse than what we were doing.

photo

We did not, however, go past the pelvis. And let me tell you, after seven hours of talking about, writing about, locating and touching and thinking about bones, that was quite enough for me. Somehow, this knowledge will make sense at some point, but currently, I’m ensconced in the activity our teacher highly recommended.

“Practice repeating surya namaskar A and B, anywhere, anytime. You need this as the foundation and are not going to get much further until you have this memorised. Next you’ll be thinking about sequences and adapting a class for your students, but until you know this straight through, you’re not going anywhere. So, on the subway, ‘inhale, arms up overhead, exhale, fold forward over your legs, inhale, prepare -‘ walking down the street ‘jump back to chatturanga’ anywhere, anytime.”

I am that crazy person muttering to myself and making arm gestures on the subway. I probably smell, just a little. But, New York, I’m practicing surya namaskar A and B, and I’m going to be a teacher one day.

One comment

Leave a Reply

